Search This Blog

Tuesday, December 15, 2020

Vegan Danish Butter Cookies

Do you remember those Royal Dansk Butter cookies? They came in a round blue tin and are really popular around the holidays. A very simple cookie but they have so much flavor. They came in different shapes and some of them had coarse sugar on them. I actually preferred them without the sugar. They are so nice with a coffee too.

My friend Rosi asked me if I could make them. I said sure, I would try and set out to make them. I asked Google for help. The very first recipe I came across and tried was a cookie winner. The recipe is by Wallflower Kitchen. 

One strange thing about these delictable goodies is the original have coconut in them. I never would have guessed that, but the Wallflower Kitchen recipe has no coconut. Another strange thing is the longer they sit, the more they taste like the really Royal Dansk cookie.

I really, really recommend getting a scale to measure grams. Different ingredients measure differently so getting a scale is ideal.

I've rambled long enough. Let's get to the recipe shall we. Here is what you will need. 

200 grams of vegan butter room temp

130 grams of confectioners sugar 

310 grams of all purpose flour

1 tbsp corn starch mixed with 2 tbsp water

2 1/2 tsp vanilla

if needed 1 or 2 tbsp almond milk 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix butter and sugar until nice and smooth.

Mix in the remaining ingredients except the almond. You will only need this if the cookie dough is too thick. I added it both times and even added two tbps the second time and made them and this was a perfect amount. 

You can use a piping bag with a flower tip or you can use a cookie scoop and flatten the cookie with the back of a measuring cup or something with a flat bottom. 

I used a cookie scoop and flattened them. I baked them for 12 minutes. Once the edges start to brown, they are done. Every oven is different so you will have to watch them.

Let them cool and enjoy.

1 comment:

  1. Unless your sugar is organic, it contains bone char - not vegan.